Fitzhenry Whiteside Publishing


 
The Horrors: Terrifying Tales, Book One
Peter Carver

Canadian Children's Book Centre Our Choice, 2006

This chilling collection brings together fifteen spine tingling tales written by some of Canada's leading writers for teens—and also a number of talented emerging writers. Each of these stories illuminates a distinct path through fearful territory—for readers fourteen to forty and beyond who thrive on the stimulation of a chilling tale. Enjoy them if you can. Enjoy them if you must.

Contributors include Don Aker, Diana Aspin, Karleen Bradford, Brian Doyle, Kristyn Dunnion, Sylvo Frank, Barbara Haworth–Attard, Martine Leavitt, R.P. MacIntyre, Rob Morphy, Kathy Stinson, W.D. Valgardson, Bill Valgardson, Alice Walsh, and Anne Wessels.

Reviews:
"The Horrors runs the gamut from Stephen King–like gore . . . to gentle ghost tales."
Quill & Quire

"Readers who loved R. L. Stine's Goosebumps and Fear Street when younger may find that these stories fill the void when they reach high school years."
--School Library Journal

Peter Carver, Editor, is the Red Deer Press Children's Book Editor. Under his direction, Red Deer Press has published such notable talents as Kevin Major, Martine Leavitt, Cora Taylor, Ted Staunton and many more. He was awarded the Canadian Library Association Award for Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada and the Writer's Union Freedom to Read Week Award. When he's not editing children's books, Peter Carver teaches creative writing classes in Toronto.

 

0889953139
5.5 x 8.5, 184 pages, Trade Paper
Ages 14+
Fiction / Teen Fiction / Horror & Ghost Stories / Horror Anthologies (multiple authors)

 
$9.95 CAD
 
Qty: Add To Cart
 

Simple Search:

Search

Advanced Search

Categories:

Featured Books:
Discover a part of Canada
On the Labrador

For people who love the rugged beauty of Canada On the Labrador captures one of the most isolated, rugged and spectacular areas of Canada. More...


Nursery Rhymes and the Stories
Half for You and Half for Me

The classic nursery rhymes are side by side with tidbits about their backstories:
Who was Wee Willie Winkie?
Did blackbirds really fly out of a pie?
Was Humpty Dumpty a person?    More...


 About Us
 Recent New and Events
 About Fifth House
 About Red Deer
 Whitecap Books
 Publishers We Distribute
 Teacher's Guides
 eBooks
 Catalogues
 Flyers
 Submission Guidelines
 Contact Us

Check-out
 
 
 Shopping CartShopping Cart
 
 0 Items In Cart
 Total: $0.00 CAD