Canadian Literary Awards

Fitzhenry & Whiteside’s proud tradition of award-winning titles

The authors we publish have won many awards for their work, whether it be fiction or non-fiction, across a comprehensive range of subject matter, including fiction for children and young adults as well as non-fiction for adults including natural and social sciences, poetry, and photography.

Our distinctive list of awards, and the titles that won them include:

Governor General’s Award (winners and finalists)

The Governor General’s Literary Awards recognize great Canadian books.

Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

This prize recognizes authors and illustrators who demonstrate artistic excellence in Canadian children’s literature.

Lane Anderson Award

Awards the best Canadian science writing

SCBWI Crystal Kite Award

A peer-given award to recognize great books from 15 SCBWI regional divisions around the world. Winner for the Canada region.

International Literacy Association’s Teachers’ Choices

The Teachers' Choices reading list from the International Literacy Association (ILA) identifies books rated by teachers, librarians, and reading specialists.

Gerald Lampert Memorial Award

The award recognizes a first book of poetry published by a Canadian.

Sheila Egoff Award

The BC Book Prize for the best juvenile or young adult novel or work of non-fiction by a resident of British Columbia or the Yukon

Children’s Literature Roundtable of Canada Information Award

The award is given annually to a book that arouses interest, stimulates curiosity, captures the imagination, and fosters concern for the world around us. The award’s aim is to recognize excellence in Canadian publishing of children’s nonfiction.

Canadian Authors Association Award

The Canadian Authors Association Awards program is to honour Canadian writing that achieves excellence without sacrificing popular appeal.

Bank Street College of Education Best Books of the Year

The Forest of Reading Awards

This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers eight reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages. The Forest helps celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators.

Silver Birch Award
Red Maple Award
Blue Spruce
Golden Oak

Atlantic Writers Award for Poetry

Alcuin Society Award for Book Design

JM Abraham Poetry Award

City of Toronto Award