Marilyn Halvorson

Marilyn Halvorson is the award-winning author of a number of young adult novels set in Western Canada. Marilyn’s 20 years as a teacher also saw the beginning of her writing career. Inspired by her students, she pursued a long-time interest in story writing and was fortunate enough to win a contest. Part of the prize was publication of her first Young Adult novel, Cowboys Don’t Cry, which was later made into a movie that premiered at the 1988 Calgary Winter Olympics. Since then she has published 11 more Young Adult novels and one non-fiction journal: To Everything a Season. When not writing, she runs her cattle ranch hear Sundre, Alberta.


The Alberta Culture Writing for Youth Award, Alberta Culture, 1983

R. Ross Arnett Award, Writers Guild of Alberta, 1988

Golden Eagle Award, 2007

For more information on Marilyn or her works...

Click to visit her website

Books by Marilyn

Sort By
Showing 1 - 8 of 8